Council Meeting June 30, 2023

The City Council met in special session pursuant to adjournment at 12:00 o'clock P.M. on June 30, 2023. A quorum was declared by Mayor Deb De Haan. The meeting was held in the Council Chambers, City Hall, 125 Central Ave SE, Orange City, Iowa.

Members Present: Council members Daryl Beltman, Olivia Chapman, Rod De Boer, and Daron De Jong

Members Absent: None

Staff: Earl Woudstra, Kurt Frederes, Jim Pottebaum

**Guests**: Doug Calsbeek

Agenda: A motion was made by Council member Daron De Jong and duly seconded by Council member Rod De Boer approving the tentative agenda as the official agenda. On call of the roll motion carried. The vote was as follows: AYES: Daron De Jong, Rod De Boer, Daryl Beltman, Olivia Chapman; NAYS: None.

<u>Council Resignation and Appointment Process</u>: Tony Vande Brake submitted his resignation as a member of the City Council. Mayor De Haan expressed her appreciation for his service. A motion was made by Council member Daron De Jong and duly seconded by Council member Olivia Chapman that the vacancy created by Tony's resignation shall be filled by appointment for temporary service until the November 2023 regular election. The appointment will be considered at the July 17, 2023 council meeting. On call of the roll motion carried. The vote was as follows: AYES: Daron De Jong, Olivia Chapman, Daryl Beltman, Rod De Boer; NAYS: None.

<u>Council Assignments</u>: A motion was made by Council member Rod De Boer and duly seconded by Council member Daryl Beltman approving the following organizational and program representative assignments: Knight Center 28E – Daron De Jong, Community Betterment – Olivia Chapman, Administration/Community Protection Health & Environment – Daryl Beltman. On call of the roll motion carried. The vote was as follows: AYES: Rod De Boer, Daryl Beltman, Olivia Chapman, Daron De Jong; NAYS: None.

<u>Wage Survey</u>: Earl shared wage survey information with the Council. No official action was taken.

Adjournment: No further business appearing it was therefore moved by Council member Rod De Boer and duly seconded by Council member Daron De Jong to adjourn. On call of the roll motion carried. The vote was as follows: AYES: Rod De Boer, Daron De Jong, Daryl Beltman, Olivia Chapman; NAYS: None. Adjournment time was 12:25 o'clock P.M.

	Deb De Haan, Mayor	
ATTEST:		
Janet Brown, City Clerk		