The City Council met in semi-monthly session pursuant to adjournment at 4:30 o'clock P.M. on July 17, 2023. A quorum was declared by Mayor Deb De Haan. The meeting was held in the Council Chambers, City Hall, 125 Central Ave SE, Orange City, Iowa.

Members Present: Council members Daryl Beltman, Olivia Chapman, Daron De Jong, and Rod De Boer via telephonic conference

Members Absent: None

Staff: Earl Woudstra, Janet Brown, Jim Pottebaum, Kurt Frederes, Ryan Mc Ewen, Josh Kramer, Todd Klein, Shane Schwarz, and Kirk Maasdam

Guests: Doug Calsbeek and Mike Hofman

Agenda: A motion was made by Council member Daron De Jong and duly seconded by Council member Olivia Chapman approving the tentative agenda, with the addition of a cigarette permit and alcohol license for Dutchmart Foods, as the official agenda. On call of the roll motion carried. The vote was as follows: AYES: Daron De Jong, Olivia Chapman, Daryl Beltman, Rod De Boer; NAYS: None.

<u>Citizen Comments</u>: This time was provided for citizen comments and none were heard.

<u>Approval of Minutes</u>: The minutes of the June 19, 2023 and June 30, 2023 council meetings were presented. A motion was made by Council member Daryl Beltman and duly seconded by Council member Daron De Jong approving said minutes as published. On call of the roll motion carried. The vote was as follows: AYES: Daryl Beltman, Daron De Jong, Olivia Chapman, Rod De Boer; NAYS: None.

Petition for Vacation of Part of Gelderland First Addition: A motion was made by Council member Daron De Jong and duly seconded by Council member Olivia Chapman adopting a resolution setting 4:30 o'clock P.M. on August 7, 2023 as the time for a public hearing to consider the vacation of part of Gelderland First Addition. On call of the roll motion carried. The vote was as follows: AYES: Daron De Jong, Olivia Chapman, Daryl Beltman, Rod De Boer; NAYS: None. The resolution was assigned number 7-17-23-2073 and appears in the official resolution book.

<u>Council Appointment</u>: A motion was made by Council member Daron De Jong and duly seconded by Council member Olivia Chapman approving the appointment of Mark Bloemendaal to fill the vacancy created by the June 20, 2023 resignation of Tony Vande Brake. On call of the roll motion carried. The vote was as follows: AYES: Daron De Jong, Olivia Chapman, Daryl Beltman, Rod De Boer; NAYS: None.

Alcohol License Applications: A motion was made by Council member Daryl Beltman and duly seconded by Council member Olivia Chapman approving the renewal application for Nederlander's Grill for a Class C Retail Alcohol License and a new application for Dutchmart Foods, the new owners of Don's Food, for a Special Class E Retail Alcohol License. On call of the roll motion carried. The vote was as follows: AYES: Daryl Beltman, Olivia Chapman, Daron De Jong, Rod De Boer; NAYS: None.

<u>Cigarette Permit Applications</u>: A motion was made by Council member Daron De Jong and duly seconded by Council member Olivia Chapman approving the applications for cigarette permits submitted by Family Dollar and Dutchmart Foods. On call of the roll motion carried. The vote was as follows: AYES: Daron De Jong, Olivia Chapman, Daryl Beltman, Rod De Boer; NAYS: None.

<u>Library Board Appointment</u>: Upon recommendation of Mayor De Haan, a motion was made by Council member Olivia Chapman and duly seconded by Council member Daron De Jong approving the appointment of Colin Brue to the library board. On call of the roll motion carried. The vote was as follows: AYES: Olivia Chapman, Daron De Jong, Daryl Beltman, Rod De Boer; NAYS: None.

<u>Well Field Purchases</u>: Upon recommendation of management, a motion was made by Council member Daryl Beltman and duly seconded by Council member Daron De Jong to exercise the options on both test well locations near the Southwest Wellfield due to favorable test results for both locations and the difficulty of obtaining permission and finding adequate quality

water. Well construction will continue at the site closest to the existing wells. The raw water main and treatment plant have capacity to flow and treat two additional wells, providing a total of 3 million gallons per day. The per-acre cost is \$31,500 for 4.5 acres, \$141,750 for each site. On call of the roll motion carried. The vote was as follows: AYES: Daryl Beltman, Daron De Jong, Olivia Chapman, Rod De Boer; NAYS: None.

Police Department Salary Recommendation: After reviewing wage survey results for law enforcement in Sioux County communities and the Sioux County Sheriff's Department, a motion was made by Council member Olivia Chapman and duly seconded by Council member Daryl Beltman approving the following pay for police department members: Police Chief Jim Pottebaum - \$92,864/year, Assistant Police Chief Bruce Jacobsma - \$80,184/year, Investigator Duane Hulstein - \$35.63/hour, and Certified Police Officers Audley De Jong, Darren Wielenga, Trey Niemyer, and Trey Schiebout - \$33.39/hour. On call of the roll motion carried. The vote was as follows: AYES: Olivia Chapman, Daryl Beltman, Daron De Jong, Rod De Boer; NAYS: None.

Administrative Reports:

Scheduled Meetings:

August 7 Council Meeting, 4:30 P.M. August 21 Council Meeting, 4:30 P.M.

August 22 Employee Picnic – site and time TBD September 5 TUESDAY, Council Meeting, 4:30 P.M.

September 18 Council Meeting, 4:30 P.M.
October 2 Council Meeting, 4:30 P.M.
October 16 Council Meeting, 4:30 P.M.

Oral reports: Earl shared about the Puddle Jumper Trail Park ribbon cutting on Thursday at 11:00; 14th Street paving next week; roundabout education going in this month's utility bills and is on website; employee picnic August 22 at Windmill Park; work happening on 18th Street; Landsmeer Board looking to replace the old garage in the maintenance area; the County is no longer interested in pursuing paving the parking lot but open to selling the property; completed interviews for the Accounts Receivable Specialist position. Ryan provided an update on the old elementary school building asbestos and bid package to request bids for demolition.

<u>Council Comments</u>: The Mayor called for comments from members of the Council and none were heard. The Mayor thanked everyone for their contributions to the Customer Appreciation Picnic and Mayor's Cup.

<u>Adjournment</u>: No further business appearing it was therefore moved by Council member Daron De Jong and duly seconded by Council member Olivia Chapman to adjourn. On call of the roll motion carried. The vote was as follows: AYES: Daron De Jong, Olivia Chapman, Daryl Beltman, Rod De Boer; NAYS: None. Adjournment time was 4:54 o'clock P.M.

	Deb De Haan, Mayor	
ATTEST:	_	
Janet Brown, City Clerk	_	